650 Mountain Street, NW
Jacksonville, Alabama 36265
(256) 435-9695

"Enrolled, An Act,
     Relating to the City of Jacksonville in Calhoun County; providing for a civil service system governing the appointment, removal, salaries, tenure, and official conduct of employees of the city; defining violations of the act; imposing penalties for violations; and repealing conflicting laws."

When It Meets 

The Civil Service Board meets regularly at 5:30 p.m. on the first Monday of every month.  Agenda

Board Members
The City Civil Service Board consists of five (5) members appointed by the senator and representative representing Jacksonville.  The members serve a six (6) year term.  Vacancies occurring during a term shall be filled for the balance of the term by the senator and representative in the same manner as original appointments.  The Board elects, from its own members, a chair, a vice-chair and a secretary.

Current Members:

Mike Abrams, Chairman
Pat Borstorff, Vice Chairman
Lynn Causey
June Shirey

‚ÄčEmployment Notices
Available positions with the City are announced through the Civil Service Board.  Click here for the latest job notices.